Home > Fantasy > The Belgariad

The Belgariad

Book 1Book 2Book 3Book 4

Although I’ve only reviewed the first book of the series, I’ve continued on and I’m currently reading the fourth.  Honestly, I didn’t really know what to say for a review of the second and third books.  My reactions to the first still held true for the rest; I’m enjoying the series.  As expected, the first book in a series is typically a bit slower as the characters and world must be introduced to the reader.

The second and third books were packed with action and adventure as Garion learns about his identity and capabilities.  I don’t plan on reviewing each book individually, but once I finish the last book I will write a review for the series.

I’ve been looking at what series I want to read next and although I’ve come across many options, I think I’m going to give Raymond Feist‘s Riftwar Saga a shot.  I’m a slow reader so I’d like to stay away from the series’ with 9 books at 700 pages each; right now I just want to keep trying new authors and new stories to find what I like.

You’ve got a review for Feist’s Riftwar Saga or opinions on The Belgariad? Leave it in a comment!

  1. December 1, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    I’ve never read the series you’re about to start, but if you like series that are shorter and easy to read, you could try The Journals of The Jacoby Odyssey.

    There are 2 books currently published in that series, plus you can check out the first book at no cost to you, by getting the free eBook from the publisher.

    It is geared toward the younger reading audience, not sure if you’re into that.

  2. Drew
    December 1, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    I’ve read the Riftwar Saga and I can tell you that I enjoyed it thoroughly. The first two books, Magician: Apprentice and Magician: Master, are very good and tell a complete story. The third and forth books, Silverthorn and A Darkness at Sethanon, are individual stories but linked together fairly nicely to the overall story. I thought they were pretty cool but all in all not nearly as good as the first two. After the fourth book the Riftwar Saga is officially over but I highly recommend reading the next two, Prince of the Blood and The King’s Buccaneer, as they were my favorite of all the books Feist has written. They are both stand alone stories as well, although the latter leads into Feist’s next series, The Serpentwar Saga.

    All in all, it’s a good fantasy series to get sucked into. I read quite a few fantasy series and this was my second favorite (number one was the Dragonlance Chronicles and Legends Trilogies by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman). It flows fairly well and has interesting and memorable characters.

  3. December 16, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    There are two series to the Belgarion epic ….

    The Belgariad and the Mallorean … I read these when they first came out and failed my O levels as a result I couldn’t put them down.

    Brilliant books.


  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: